02x04 - Liquor Store / Exterminator / Car Wash

Episode transcripts for the TV show "Nathan for You". Aired: February 2013 to November 2017.*
Watch/Buy Amazon  Merchandise

"Nathan for You" centers around Nathan Fielder, who helps real small businesses turn a profit. Often people gain more than they were expecting!

02x04 - Liquor Store / Exterminator / Car Wash

Post by bunniefuu »

My name is Nathan Fielder, and I graduated from one of Canada's top business schools with really good grades.

Now I'm using my knowledge to help struggling small-business owners make it in this competitive world.

(dramatic music)

This is Nathan for you.

Nabil Khalil is the owner of Bouquet Plaza Liquor in Santa Clarita, California, and every day, he deals with a problem that has vexed liquor store owners for years.

We always have teenager trying to come and buy alcohol.

We always refuse the sale.

As far as I'm concerned, no business should ever have to turn away a paying customer, so I paid Nabil a visit to help him out.

Every time you turn away a teenager who's trying to buy alcohol, you're losing a sale.

Yes, because that's what the law is.

Mm-hmm. So, from now on, you allow them to purchase it, but they just can't take it home until they're 21.

The main reason teenagers want booze is to look cool to their friends, so if Nabil let minors purchase alcohol, but then held it in a storage locker until their 21st birthday, Bouquet Plaza Liquor would gain a ton of new underage customers, who could then brag to their friends that they own booze.

The plan, increase business by selling alcohol to minors.

Could be possible, but when you get close to that age, definitely, you don't want a voucher that says, "Oh, yes, I own couple bottle of liquor,"

But where they are? So they want to have it.

Well, no offense, but, you know, I'm a bit closer to my teenage years than you are, so I think I know what youth these days want.