02x08 - Toy Company/ Movie Theatre

Episode transcripts for the TV show "Nathan for You". Aired: February 2013 to November 2017.*
Watch/Buy Amazon  Merchandise

"Nathan for You" centers around Nathan Fielder, who helps real small businesses turn a profit. Often people gain more than they were expecting!

02x08 - Toy Company/ Movie Theatre

Post by bunniefuu »

My name is Nathan Fielder, and I graduated from one of Canada's top business schools with really good grades.

Now, I'm using my knowledge to help struggling small business owners make it in this competitive world.

(dramatic music playing)

♪ ♪

This is Nathan for You.

This is Mark Rappaport, owner of Marky Sparky Toys.

And of all the products he's invented, one stands out as the absolute worst.

The "Doinkit" is a strange ball that doesn't do much.

And, unfortunately for Mark, it hasn't been the biggest seller, either.

It's not all fun-- it's all fun and games-- until nobody buys your toys. (laughs)

But as far as I'm concerned, the quality of the toy shouldn't matter, when you're selling to kids.

So I paid Mark a visit, with a way to get those Doinkits sold.

When you're a kid, what's the one thing you want, more than anything?

Power.

No. To not be seen as a baby.

It's very easy to market to kids, because their brains are so small.

So rather than selling a ball, Mark should be selling an identity for children. That identity?

That owning a Doinkit is the only way to prove you're not a baby.

No. (laughs) No.

This is Marketing 101.

A-- According to you.

Well, that's what sells products.

Fantastic! Fantastic. I am so excited.

Am I sensing some sarcasm?

Yes.

Mark wasn't convinced, and said there was only one thing that could win him over.

Cash. Money.

I needed to show that this would be profitable.

So later that week, I arranged a focus group to see if my marketing approach would work with actual children.

When I show this to you, what do you think?

Do you want it?

Nope.

Nah.

No.

Why?