03x01 - Electronics Store

Episode transcripts for the TV show "Nathan for You". Aired: February 2013 to November 2017.*
Watch/Buy Amazon  Merchandise

"Nathan for You" centers around Nathan Fielder, who helps real small businesses turn a profit. Often people gain more than they were expecting!

03x01 - Electronics Store

Post by bunniefuu »

My name is Nathan Fielder, and I graduated from one of Canada's top business schools with really good grades. Now I'm using my knowledge to help struggling small business owners make it in this competitive world.

This is "Nathan for You."

Alen Harikian is the owner of Speers TV, a South-Pasadena electronics store that's been operating in the neighborhood for over 60 years. But ever since a massive Best Buy moved in just minutes away from his tiny shop, he's been finding it impossible to keep up with their aggressive pricing.

Their sales are ridiculous.

I mean, there's no way that I can compete.

And if it keeps up, Speers TV is at risk of going extinct. So I paid Alen a visit with an ambitious solution to undercut his biggest competitor.

Are you familiar with the Best Buy price-match policy?

Yeah. It's horrible.

I mean, it's bad for small business.

One of the main reasons Alen has such a hard time competing with Best Buy is because of their aggressive price-match policy, which guarantees they will match the price of any local competitor, preventing stores like Speers from underselling them, but if Alen dropped his prices so low to make his TVs virtually free, according to Best Buy's own policy, they would have to match that price, too, giving Alen a short window of time where he could buy up all their inventory for $1 and then resell those TVs for any price he wants to make a huge profit.

The plan: use Best Buy's price-match policy against them to get Speers an endless supply of $1 TVs.

Um... It's a great idea.

It might take a little bit of work and time to do.

Okay.

Do you have a lot going on right now?