03x02 - Horseback Riding / Man Zone

Episode transcripts for the TV show "Nathan for You". Aired: February 2013 to November 2017.*
Watch/Buy Amazon  Merchandise

"Nathan for You" centers around Nathan Fielder, who helps real small businesses turn a profit. Often people gain more than they were expecting!

03x02 - Horseback Riding / Man Zone

Post by bunniefuu »

My name is Nathan Fielder, and I graduated from one of Canada's top business schools with really good grades. Now I'm using my knowledge to help struggling small business owners make it in this competitive world.

This is "Nathan for You."

There's nothing more fun than sitting on an animal that's bigger than you and riding it around, which is why Joy Lazarus of Park Place Stable in Malibu, California, has made a business out of charging people to do just that, unless, of course, you're overweight.

We don't want to injure our horses, and that's what it really comes down to, so, you know, we're not gonna allow a 400-pound person to ride.

But unlike Joy, I believe that everyone should be able to mount a horse, so I paid her a visit with a way to help.

You know, it's nice to think about your horses and all, but humans have feelings too.

I don't want to reject anybody, but there's... you know, there's... there's nothing I can do.

Right now, the heaviest load a horse can carry is 220 pounds, and if Joy allowed riders above that weight to mount a horse, there's a big risk the animal will buckle and suffer severe or even fatal injuries. [g*nsh*t, bell rings] But if plus-sized customers could have their weight offset by being tied to helium-filled weather balloons, Joy would be able to expand her customer base to a totally unserved market.

So, um, you want to put balloons on a person?

Correct.

Okay.

Sometimes it's not about, you know, only making money.

It's about doing what's right.

Imagine if you were the only place that could provide horsey rides for the, uh, morbidly obese.

But I don't, I mean...