03x06 - Hotel / Travel Agent

Episode transcripts for the TV show "Nathan for You". Aired: February 2013 to November 2017.*
Watch/Buy Amazon  Merchandise

"Nathan for You" centers around Nathan Fielder, who helps real small businesses turn a profit. Often people gain more than they were expecting!

03x06 - Hotel / Travel Agent

Post by bunniefuu »

My name is Nathan Fielder, and I graduated from one of Canada's top business schools with really good grades. Now I'm using my knowledge to help struggling small business owners make it in this competitive world.

This is "Nathan for You."

If you're a traveling businessman visiting Pomona, California, chances are you'll stay at the iconic Hilltop Hotel. But recently, hotel manager Kenny Pang has been eager to attract a new type of clientele: families on vacation.

The hotel would like to, you know, get more families to come in because when they-- when they come in, they will stay a lot longer than the other guests.

But as far as I'm concerned, if you want to attract families, you have to cater to the needs of the parents. So I paid Kenny a visit with a way to help.

When couples stay alone in a hotel, if their relationship's going well, they'll usually have sex, right?

[laughs]

That's common sense.

Yeah. But when families travel together, I imagine it's incredibly frustrating for the parents because they're unable to engage in sexual intercourse because their kids are there.

[laughing] You know what?

I never, ever really pay attention to this matter.

But...it's out there.

Right now, the reason why parents don't want to have sex while on vacation is because their children will see and hear them, leading to permanent developmental damage which can never be repaired. But if the Hilltop Hotel could offer a portable soundproof box that completely isolates the child from his parents' carnal acts, they'd quickly become the top hotel choice for sexually active parents traveling with their children. The plan: