03x05 - Smokers Allowed

Episode transcripts for the TV show "Nathan for You". Aired: February 2013 to November 2017.*
Watch/Buy Amazon  Merchandise

"Nathan for You" centers around Nathan Fielder, who helps real small businesses turn a profit. Often people gain more than they were expecting!

03x05 - Smokers Allowed

Post by bunniefuu »

My name is Nathan Fielder, and I graduated from one of Canada's top business schools with really good grades. Now I'm using my knowledge to help struggling small business owners make it in this competitive world.

This is "Nathan for You."

Life isn't easy for smokers these days as smoking bans throughout America have made the outdoors the only option for lighting up. But hit worst of all has been the bars. And proprietors like Ellen Sancer of the 1881 Club in Pasadena, California, claim that smoking restrictions have caused her profits to plummet.

We lost a lot of our customers.

Our business went down by half.

As a smoker herself, she's not happy. So I paid Ellen a visit with a way she might be able to return to those profitable glory days.

In my opinion, smokers shouldn't be treated like second-class citizens.

Absolutely.

If anything, they should be treated better than the rest of us because they're gonna die so young.

Or at least as well as the rest of them.

Right, so you think people should be allowed to smoke in here?

Yeah.

Well, I might have a way to make that happen.

Okay.

Right now, California state law prohibits smoking in a business unless it happens to be part of a theatrical production where smoking is integral to the plot. So if Ellen added a small audience section to her bar and then classified every patron as an actor in a free-form play, the 1881 Club would become the only drinking hole in town where people could legally smoke.

That could be possible.

I never thought about turning it around that way.

Well, most theater is terrible.

[laughs] I have seen a few bad ones, yeah.