04x03 - Andy vs. Uber

Episode transcripts for the TV show "Nathan for You". Aired: February 2013 to November 2017.*
Watch/Buy Amazon  Merchandise

"Nathan for You" centers around Nathan Fielder, who helps real small businesses turn a profit. Often people gain more than they were expecting!

04x03 - Andy vs. Uber

Post by bunniefuu »

- My name is Nathan Fielder, and I graduated from one of Canada's top business schools with really good grades.

Now I'm using my knowledge to help struggling small business owners make it in this competitive world.

This is "Nathan for You.

" In season two of my show, I gave marketing advice to a small taxi company owner named Andy Farshidian, whose business was being destroyed by the ride share giant Uber.

- The idea was to generate press by encouraging pregnant riders to give birth in his taxi.

But what I never saw coming was that just a few months after that episode aired Uber just happened to launch a new campaign offering free baby onesies to anyone who gives birth in one of their cars.

Encouraging customers births to get press was our idea.

And when I met up with Andy to tell him about it, he couldn't believe his eyes.

- You know, you're right.

You're right.

They stole our idea.

- Did you know about this?

- No, I never saw this.

This is the first time I saw it.

- After already having taken so much from this struggling cabby, for Uber, this was a new low.

Business had gotten so bad that Andy had resorted to turning his cab into a mobile karaoke booth in a last-ditch effort to hold on to his customers.

- Say my name say my name Around you Say I love you If you--my name Say my name say my name - It was clear we had to do something.

So I sat down with Andy to discuss our options.

I never get mad.

I'm very cool and calm all time time, but I am so furious that they did this to you.

- They stole everything.

You know what I mean?

The idea, the money, the passenger, everything.

They stole everything, you know?